Tangled

Through out the course, I’ve built up a huge archive of influential films, programs and illustrations that have developed and honed my animations. I’ve been able to come back to this list and archive when looking through past evaluations and reviews of various pieces of work and now is the time, I feel, as though this will all come back and effect this project in particular.

I could no doubt re-blog many of my previous research but probably even been able to take the understanding of the work a step further as my views and approach to work has evolved and developed through the last few years. But alas, expanding and developing new pieces of work or focusing on specific points I never noticed before in older pieces of work is what I need to do within this project.

Specifically within this blog post I will look upon something I had not noticed before about Tangled, the Disney animation which was released back in 2010. These specific points are around the film direction, this had only occurred to me after attending Animex not too long ago which really opened my eyes up ready for the project with such a vast list of speakers and discussions. One such amazing speaker was Disney’s layout artist Rob Dressel. He mainly focused upon the behind the scenes information about Disney’s most current feature film ‘Wreck-It Ralph’, however he spoke quite a bit about film direction and how the character’s body position and orientation can effect the audiences perception of the direction of the film. This is something we have looked into before but I have completely neglected for a very long time.
Underneath I broke apart the specific scene that Rob had mentioned within his talk, as he used Tangled as a ‘perfect’ example of this from the Disney archives.

direction

Here we see Rapunzel conflicted at the thought of either going back into the tower, or to continue on and try to see the floating lights she has so longed to see. What I never even realised until Rob had mentioned it, was the way in which every time Rapuzel moves towards her dream and is uplifted, she faces left. Every time Rapunzel is down trodden or is moving away from her goal, she faces the right. Within this specific scene it is most apparent due to the snap from one extreme to the other as she confronts her feelings and the whole film builds around this with both the colour, direction and tone of that moment in time.
This is something I had to change within my rough animation storyboards for when I was going to draw them out properly. Although at the time I think I felt confused as to the actual direction the character is meant to face. Even though it can be seen above in the analysis of Tangled, when writing my notes I thought he described it as the other direction, this when I put it into practice felt a little bit more natural for myself so I kept to my notes and did the opposite as can be seen within Tangled. Even though I’ve done it towards opposite directions, I have kept it constant throughout and I have also kept the same idea and principle.

stretch

This next image is simply showing the amount of stretch that I didn’t really pay attention too before.

Leave a Reply

