Detailed Dope Sheets

I had talked about dope sheets before but I didn’t actually realise how important these things would be towards my animation but now I’ve done all three, these are just as important as the actual drawings.
Using them within my animation, I have slightly changed how you would probably use them just to tailor my needs but I do understand how they would work and if I was to see a more professional dope sheet layout I’m sure I’d be able to get my head around it fairly quickly. Although there is only so much you can do with a dope sheet that is different. The layout is laid out at the top and a lot of the notes where just quick scribbles in order to understand the next or upcoming frames. With columns 1, 2 and 3 the way I went about using those was to actually write out every frame I’d need in two’s down column 1 which I could work from knowing the time and how many frames I am in or have left. Column 2 was used to tell me which frame was that I had drawn was needed to be used at what point within the animation so this meant I could either pull out drawings over several frames or to re-use drawings where I could to be put back into the animation. The 3rd column was mainly used for any overlapping sheets, these were the ones that I could layer over the animated drawings where things would stay constant. I really do enjoy the use of dope sheets now and see why they would be so important to any animation method and not just hand drawn.

Leave a Reply

