Hourlies

In the summer time I was contacted by the very nice Rodrigo Martucci who is a Community Manager at PeoplePerHour. He had come across my blog and been reading some of my posts and had mentioned how the website may of interest to myself and others with an interest in the creative industry.

Here’s the information that Rodrigo had given me,

“Hourlies are online listings that allow anyone to easily sell their services or skills on a small project basis, starting with as little as one hour. They take just minutes to create and the idea is that people with something great to sell can connect with buyers all over the world, fast! The concept is taking freelancing mainstream and we’re seeing some pretty amazing Hourlies posted like this one from Lydia. She can create an illustrated version of you doing anything, in 8 hours. There’s also James, who can produce an interactive 3D model of a house in 5 hours. Or there’s Siobhian’s, where she can restore old damaged photos in 2 hours.

It’s pretty cool stuff and it’s super easy to use. Graphic designers and illustrators in particular have already been using PeoplePerHour and achieved some great things! Marcus was able to find his true calling with PeoplePerHour’s help; Liz is able to earn while taking care of her family and Lauren is a successful full-time artist who dazzles clients from all over the world.”

After having a look at the website myself I found out how useful and interesting these sorts of websites are. I haven’t yet come across many websites in which you are able to use the site as a way to allow people looking for creatives to find a specific one with a certain job in mind. It was interesting to see the sort of work and amount people look for when doing specific jobs.
As well as being able to look at other areas and see how others work and place themselves in terms of costs, I can be able to start to look at possibly getting more of my work out there as well as looking more at the freelance industry. Although there is no specific area for animation it’d be great to work into the other areas and build on my own skill, knowledge and portfolio.

It could be a very interesting, useful and a good way to get further work by setting up my own account once I have sorted out my own portfolio and got my head around costs and information! It’ll be great to see what comes of sites such as these as there aren’t too many large websites which hold such a service as well as having the trouble with finding such jobs and possibilities within the industry at the moment that I can find.

Check it out – http://www.peopleperhour.com/

One thought on “Hourlies

  1. You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this matter to be actually something which I think I would never understand. It seems too complex and very broad for me. I’m looking forward for your next post, I’ll try to get the hang of it!

Leave a Reply

