Working the walk

After getting the main extremes of my walk cycle down and drawing them onto the animation paper, I took a quick test shot of the walk to see if it works well. But the issue with this was that there wasn’t enough frames for me to see whether or not it ‘flowed’ well yet. So I went back to drawing and added the extra inbetweens first to see whether or not the walk cycle was heading in the direction I had aimed for.

Here’s the second test footage that I took of the walk cycle at 8 frames per cycle (at 24 frames per second) and the lines are still in blue. After looking through the test a few times I’ve decided that 8 frames was too fast as a walk cycle, with it being 3 steps per second and it would work better at 12 frames per cycle meaning 2 steps per second.

Here’s where I’ve tried working out the inbetweens for the walk cycle. The orange one’s are the first set of inbetweens when I was working with the walk cycle at 8 frames per cycle and then the blue are the ones I added once I changed it to 12 frames per cycle. As you can hopefully see, the extreme points of the walk cycle, Contact > Down > Passing > Up > Contact, are set at frames 1 > 5 > 8 > 11 > 13. I’ve extended the gap between the first contact and passing position because I was looking at creating a faster ‘snapping’ action when the leg is brought back down for contact. These would smooth down the action as well as add more of an arc to the movement of the arms and upper body, a point I still need to work on though is the over lapping and passing of points with the body to ease the character movements. Something I may need to add or look at is the angle of the passing foot whilst it’s in the air, rather than having it appear to lift linear to the ground, it should bend outwards to reveal the bottom of the foot slightly.

This has taken a much longer time than I had ever anticipated because I didn’t take into account just how much research and understanding was really needed with animation before I could create anything I can be really proud of. I believe I’m really starting to understand the basics of animation and not just in terms of simply listing them and knowing what they are, but how they are implemented and used to create something that is believable, characterised, timed and bring out the characters personality.
Analysing animations have become easier and the understanding of how and why they have animated like that has defiantly grown, however I’m still finding it hard to do it myself with hand drawn although it seems it just takes lots of practice. Hopefully.

Here’s all of them together to get an idea of the way he’ll ideally move with the magic of Photoshop.

Leave a Reply

