Particels and light beams

After talking to Matt about my idea, or at least how I imagine my alien beam to be like, he had told me about a piece of software that we have in College.

Red Giant’s TrapCode suite is ideal for what I had in mind especially after looking at Corridor Digitals short film they made with the Dubstep weapons and the way in which they created their waves of sound.
I was thinking of having a main beam but then having something much more fluid and wrap around that main beam with particles running off of it.

http://www.redgiantsoftware.com/products/all/trapcode-suite/

Here’s some really nice behind the scenes of an indie film group who have created this sci-fi short film and a lot of the aspects they’re using in this are what I am having to do and create so it’s nice to see something which I can aim for. Something that I must look into more and I am slightly worried about is the notion of the tracking points and making the set fit the character.

Behind the Scenes from BC2010 on Vimeo.

Leave a Reply

